Home Page Osservatorio Vesuviano
Home News In primo piano International Workshop on: Advanced Monitoring of Active Volcanoes

Click here to watch the first session (28/09/2015) of AMAV webcast.

Click here to watch the second session (29/09/2015) of AMAV webcast.

28-30 September 2015, Naples (Italy) Deadline for abstract submission: 15th June 2015 Submit your contribution to: Questo indirizzo e-mail è protetto dallo spam bot. Abilita Javascript per vederlo. - web site: www.ov.ingv.it

International Workshop on: Advanced Monitoring of Active Volcanoes

The Osservatorio Vesuviano, is deputed to the observation and monitoring of active Neapolitan volcanoes, since 1841. It was the first volcano observatory in the world, founded by Bourbon Ferdinand II, King of the Two Sicilies. Nowadays, due to increasing of population living close to Vesuvius, Campi Flegrei caldera and Ischia island, the Neapolitan volcanic district represents the most risky volcanic area worldwide. Recently, the European Union and the International Continental Scientific Drilling Program financed several projects for the improvement of Osservatorio Vesuviano monitoring networks. The International Workshop on “Advanced Monitoring of Active Volcanoes” aims to present and discuss new advanced technologies for volcano monitoring, with major emphasis posed on borehole and sea-bottom networks. We then invite researchers of worldwide observatories, of universities and research centers, to join the Workshop presenting the current experiences of their respective Institutes and discussing the topic for a near future vision of innovative monitoring networks.

The workshop will be held at the Church of San Domenico Maggiore a church in Naples, southern Italy, founded by the friars of the Dominican Order, located in the square with the same name.

See the first circular here

Download here the second circular.

See the last Program here

See the GUIDE for your staying here

We are here

You can download the abstracts collection here.

Download the Neapoliotan Volcanic area guidebook here


Scientific Committee (INGV): Claudia Troise, Renato Somma, Luca D’Auria, Stefano Carlino, Giovanni Scarpato, Giovanna Berrino

Organizing Committee (INGV): G. Alessio, G. Borriello, M. De Lucia, V. De Paola, M. Dolce, M. Lo Bascio, A. Maiello, A. Mormone, C. Serio, V. Torello, E. Trimarchi, S. Tulino.

We welcome liberal contributions